Household costs
The outlook for what a United States household pays for food, motor fuel and home energy: which way each is expected to go, over what period, how wide the range is, and the markets upstream that drive it. Built from EIA, BLS and USDA releases. Free to use.
The outlook
Brent crude is $126.55 a barrel (14 Oct 2026), +100.9% on a year. EIA's October 2026 outlook has it averaging $72.00 by Dec 2027.
Retail diesel, the fuel of road freight, is $6.179 a gallon, +68.6% on a year; regular gasoline is $4.331, +41.5%.
Wholesale gasoline has fallen further than the pump price has followed, so the pump price is more likely to fall than rise over the next three weeks.
EIA expects residential heating oil to average $5.426 a gallon over the 2026–27 heating season, +37.6% on the 2025–26 season.
Grocery prices are +2.2% on a year; ERS forecasts +2.4% for 2026 as a whole. That forecast implies an average for Oct–Dec 2026 of +0.2% against today, within -2.1 to 2.6: a range that spans both a rise and a fall.
Upstream, ERS's wholesale and farm-level forecasts point up for beef, butter, bread, flour, potatoes and tomatoes, and down for eggs, chicken, pork, milk and cheese.
| Item | Period | Outlook | Expected average vs today | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular gasoline | Next 3 weeks | Falling | $4.029 to $4.307 | now $4.331; wholesale plus its usual margin |
| Diesel | Next 3 weeks | Rising | $6.249 to $6.381 | now $6.179; wholesale plus its usual margin |
| Heating oil | Winter 2026–27 | Rising | +37.6% | EIA forecast vs the 2025–26 winter; lowest month Mar 2027 |
| Propane | Winter 2026–27 | Falling | -1.6% | EIA forecast vs the 2025–26 winter; lowest month Oct 2026 |
| Utility natural gas | Winter 2026–27 | Falling | -8.2% | EIA forecast vs the 2025–26 winter; lowest month Jan 2027 |
| Electricity | Winter 2026–27 | Rising | +2.8% | EIA forecast vs the 2025–26 winter; lowest month Dec 2026 |
| Eggs, grade A large | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -1.2% (-20.8 to 22.4) | Eggs · farm and wholesale falling |
| Ground beef, 100% beef | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +2.9% (-4.4 to 11.0) | Beef and veal · farm and wholesale rising |
| Chicken, whole | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.5% (-4.4 to 3.9) | Poultry · farm and wholesale falling |
| Chicken breast, boneless | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.5% (-4.4 to 3.9) | Poultry · farm and wholesale falling |
| Bacon, sliced | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.3% (-5.4 to 5.2) | Pork · farm and wholesale falling |
| Pork chops, center cut bone-in | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.3% (-5.4 to 5.2) | Pork · farm and wholesale falling |
| Milk, whole | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +1.4% (-1.4 to 4.2) | Dairy products · farm and wholesale falling |
| Cheddar cheese, natural | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +1.4% (-1.4 to 4.2) | Dairy products · farm and wholesale falling · buying ahead not favoured |
| Butter, salted grade AA | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +0.1% (-3.5 to 4.1) | Fats and oils · farm and wholesale rising · buying ahead favoured |
| Bread, white pan | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7) | Cereals and bakery products · farm and wholesale rising |
| Flour, white all-purpose | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7) | Cereals and bakery products · farm and wholesale rising · buying ahead favoured |
| Rice, white long grain uncooked | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7) | Cereals and bakery products |
| Coffee, 100% ground roast | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.3% (-3.0 to 2.8) | Nonalcoholic beverages |
| Sugar, white | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | +1.5% (-1.5 to 4.5) | Sugar and sweets |
| Bananas | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.7% (-4.5 to 3.9) | Fresh fruits |
| Oranges, navel | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.7% (-4.5 to 3.9) | Fresh fruits |
| Potatoes, white | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.6% (-5.9 to 5.1) | Fresh vegetables · farm and wholesale rising |
| Tomatoes, field grown | Oct–Dec 2026 | No settled direction | -0.6% (-5.9 to 5.1) | Fresh vegetables · farm and wholesale rising |
Motor fuel outlook
| Month | Regular gasoline | Diesel |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 2026 | $4.404 | $6.270 |
| Nov 2026 | $4.197 | $5.788 |
| Dec 2026 | $3.857 | $5.335 |
| Jan 2027 | $3.721 | $5.059 |
| Feb 2027 | $3.651 | $4.906 |
| Mar 2027 | $3.738 | $4.798 |
| Apr 2027 | $3.777 | $4.672 |
Home energy outlook
| Fuel | Winter 2025–26 | Winter 2026–27 | Change | EIA month by month, October to March |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heating oil per gal | $3.943 | $5.426 | +37.6% | Oct $6.146 · Nov $5.792 · Dec $5.455 · Jan $5.256 · Feb $5.062 · Mar $4.845 |
| Propane, residential per gal | $2.558 | $2.518 | -1.6% | Oct $2.511 · Nov $2.514 · Dec $2.519 · Jan $2.523 · Feb $2.526 · Mar $2.517 |
| Natural gas, residential per Mcf | $15.60 | $14.32 | -8.2% | Oct $18.29 · Nov $14.44 · Dec $13.32 · Jan $12.71 · Feb $13.33 · Mar $13.81 |
| Electricity, residential ¢ per kWh | 17.8¢ | 18.3¢ | +2.8% | Oct 18.4¢ · Nov 18.3¢ · Dec 17.8¢ · Jan 18.1¢ · Feb 18.1¢ · Mar 18.9¢ |
Food outlook
Eggs, grade A largeNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -1.2% (-20.8 to 22.4)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Farm-level eggs: ERS 2026 -79.2% (-82.8 to -72.1) |
| Maize (corn), US No. 2 yellow: -0.6% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 (within its usual move) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +9.0% on average, higher in 6 of 10 |
Ground beef, 100% beefNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +2.9% (-4.4 to 11.0)Farm and wholesalerisingDetailClose
| Wholesale beef: ERS 2026 +8.5% (3.0 to 15.0) |
| Farm-level cattle: ERS 2026 +7.1% (3.8 to 10.9) |
| Boxed beef cutout, Choice 600–900 lb: +1.5% over three months to 15 Oct 2026 (within its usual move) |
| Beef, Australia & NZ frozen: -5.6% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +0.1% on average, higher in 5 of 10 |
Chicken, wholeNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.5% (-4.4 to 3.9)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Wholesale poultry: ERS 2026 -4.9% (-7.3 to -2.3) |
| Maize (corn), US No. 2 yellow: -0.6% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 (within its usual move) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +0.7% on average, higher in 4 of 10 |
Chicken breast, bonelessNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.5% (-4.4 to 3.9)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Wholesale poultry: ERS 2026 -4.9% (-7.3 to -2.3) |
| Maize (corn), US No. 2 yellow: -0.6% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 (within its usual move) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +0.9% on average, higher in 5 of 10 |
Bacon, slicedNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.3% (-5.4 to 5.2)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Wholesale pork: ERS 2026 -9.4% (-12.8 to -5.4) |
| Pork belly primal: -43.4% over three months to 15 Oct 2026 |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -3.5% on average, higher in 2 of 10 |
Pork chops, center cut bone-inNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.3% (-5.4 to 5.2)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Wholesale pork: ERS 2026 -9.4% (-12.8 to -5.4) |
| Pork carcass cutout: -24.3% over three months to 15 Oct 2026 |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -3.8% on average, higher in 0 of 10 |
Milk, wholeNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +1.4% (-1.4 to 4.2)Farm and wholesalefallingDetailClose
| Wholesale dairy: ERS 2026 -0.7% (-2.7 to 1.4) |
| Farm-level milk: ERS 2026 -9.4% (-14.2 to -3.8) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +1.0% on average, higher in 7 of 10 |
Cheddar cheese, naturalNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +1.4% (-1.4 to 4.2)Farm and wholesalefallingBuy aheadnot favouredDetailClose
| Wholesale dairy: ERS 2026 -0.7% (-2.7 to 1.4) |
| Farm-level milk: ERS 2026 -9.4% (-14.2 to -3.8) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -1.8% on average, higher in 1 of 10 |
Butter, salted grade AANo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +0.1% (-3.5 to 4.1)Farm and wholesalerisingBuy aheadfavouredDetailClose
| Wholesale dairy: ERS 2026 -0.7% (-2.7 to 1.4) |
| Wholesale fats and oils: ERS 2026 +19.2% (16.3 to 22.4) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 8 years: -3.2% on average, higher in 2 of 8 |
Bread, white panNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7)Farm and wholesalerisingDetailClose
| Wholesale wheat flour: ERS 2026 +2.5% (0.0 to 5.1) |
| Farm-level wheat: ERS 2026 +18.3% (11.4 to 26.9) |
| Wheat, US No. 1 hard red winter: +12.9% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +1.0% on average, higher in 6 of 10 |
Flour, white all-purposeNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7)Farm and wholesalerisingBuy aheadfavouredDetailClose
| Wholesale wheat flour: ERS 2026 +2.5% (0.0 to 5.1) |
| Farm-level wheat: ERS 2026 +18.3% (11.4 to 26.9) |
| Wheat, US No. 1 hard red winter: +12.9% over three months to 1 Jul 2026 |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -4.3% on average, higher in 1 of 10 |
Rice, white long grain uncookedNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +0.4% (-2.0 to 2.7)Farm and wholesaleno ERS forecastDetailClose
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -1.0% on average, higher in 6 of 10 |
| H-α desk: no forward call published (no citable driver set) |
Coffee, 100% ground roastNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.3% (-3.0 to 2.8)Farm and wholesaleno ERS forecastDetailClose
| Sep to Dec in the past 8 years: +1.4% on average, higher in 5 of 8 |
| H-α desk: no-change baseline for the world price (no driver model yet) |
Sugar, whiteNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: +1.5% (-1.5 to 4.5)Farm and wholesaleno ERS forecastDetailClose
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -2.0% on average, higher in 3 of 10 |
| H-α desk: no-change baseline for the world price (no driver model yet) |
BananasNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.7% (-4.5 to 3.9)Farm and wholesaleno ERS forecastDetailClose
| Farm-level fruits: ERS 2026 -4.1% (-7.8 to 0.0) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +0.3% on average, higher in 5 of 10 |
Oranges, navelNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.7% (-4.5 to 3.9)Farm and wholesaleno ERS forecastDetailClose
| Farm-level fruits: ERS 2026 -4.1% (-7.8 to 0.0) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 8 years: -10.3% on average, higher in 0 of 8 |
Potatoes, whiteNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.6% (-5.9 to 5.1)Farm and wholesalerisingDetailClose
| Farm-level vegetables: ERS 2026 +16.0% (7.7 to 26.8) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: -5.6% on average, higher in 0 of 10 |
Tomatoes, field grownNo settled directionOct–Dec 2026: -0.6% (-5.9 to 5.1)Farm and wholesalerisingDetailClose
| Farm-level vegetables: ERS 2026 +16.0% (7.7 to 26.8) |
| Sep to Dec in the past 10 years: +8.9% on average, higher in 9 of 10 |
Track record
| Rule run on the stored history | Weeks called | Right | Rate | Weeks with no call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular gasoline, 3 weeks ahead | 55 | 41 | 75% | 59 |
| Diesel, 3 weeks ahead | 65 | 46 | 71% | 49 |
Your household
Registered households are kept on the list for this page as it develops. Registration stores the answers above with the email address and ZIP code below. Individual answers are not published; H-α uses them to personalise this page and to compile aggregate, anonymised statistics. A link is sent to the email address; a registration, or a change to one, takes effect when that link is opened. The email also gives the address for deleting a registration.
A confirmed household can sign in on any device, the app included, with a six-digit code sent to its email; the answers held for it then open here, and a change made while signed in is saved at once.
Sent only when one of these changes: the three-week pump price call changes direction; ERS publishes a new Food Price Outlook (monthly); EIA publishes a new Short-Term Energy Outlook (monthly); EIA's heating oil and propane survey resumes (October).
Runway
Places to hold or invest savings online
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Money Market Account Ally Bank | to open: not stated | none a month | FDIC insured | not stated | No minimum balance; 10 withdrawals or transfers per statement cycle, combined with Ally Savings | terms | ||
| Online Savings Account Ally Bank | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC insured | not stated | 10 withdrawals or transfers per statement cycle, combined with Ally Money Market | terms | ||
| High Yield Savings American Express National Bank | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category | not stated | terms | |||
| UFB Portfolio Savings Axos Bank (UFB Direct is a division) | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 individual, $500,000 joint | not stated | terms | |||
| Online Savings Barclays Bank Delaware | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC insured | not stated | terms | |||
| Tiered Savings Barclays Bank Delaware | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC insured | not stated | terms | |||
| 360 Performance Savings Capital One, N.A. | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC insured; Discover Bank deposits opened since 18 May 2025 count with Capital One deposits | not stated | No ATM withdrawals from this account | terms | ||
| Platinum Savings CIT Bank, a division of First Citizens Bank | $100 to open | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category | not stated | Higher rate tier from $5,000 | terms | ||
| Online Savings Account Goldman Sachs Bank USA (Marcus by Goldman Sachs) | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC insured; maximum balance limits apply | not stated | No limit on withdrawals or transfers | terms | ||
| LevelUp Savings Happen Bank, N.A. (formerly LendingClub) | $0 to open · $0 smallest amount | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 | not stated | Higher rate requires $250 or more deposited per statement cycle | terms | ||
| SoFi Checking and Savings SoFi Bank, N.A. | to open: not stated | none a month | FDIC, $250,000; up to $3 million through the SoFi Insured Deposit Program | not stated | No minimum balance | terms | ||
| High Yield Savings Synchrony Bank | to open: not stated | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category | not stated | No minimum balance | terms | ||
| Chime Savings Account The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A. (Chime is not a bank) | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC, $250,000, through the two banks | not stated | Requires a Chime Checking Account | terms | ||
| Varo Savings Account Varo Bank, N.A. | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC, $250,000 | not stated | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash Reserve Betterment LLC (not a bank) | to open: not stated · $10 smallest amount | none a month | FDIC, up to $4 million individual, through program banks | no | $10 minimum balance to earn the base rate | terms | ||
| Fidelity Cash Management Account Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC | $0 to open | none a month | FDIC, up to $4 million, through program banks; SIPC for securities | no | terms | |||
| High-Yield Cash (brokerage cash sweep) Robinhood Financial LLC | to open: not stated | $5 a month | FDIC, up to $2.5 million individual, through program banks | no | Interest only with a Robinhood Gold subscription ($5 a month) | terms | ||
| Cash Account Wealthfront Brokerage LLC (not a bank) | $1 to open | none a month | FDIC, up to $8 million individual, through program banks | no | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series EE Savings Bond US Department of the Treasury (TreasuryDirect) | $25 to open · $25 smallest amount | none a month | Obligation of the US government; Treasury guarantees the value doubles in 20 years | no | $10,000 a person a calendar year; cannot be cashed for 12 months; cashing before 5 years loses the last 3 months' interest | terms | ||
| Series I Savings Bond US Department of the Treasury (TreasuryDirect) | $25 to open · $25 smallest amount | none a month | Obligation of the US government | no | $10,000 a person a calendar year; cannot be cashed for 12 months; cashing before 5 years loses the last 3 months' interest | terms | ||
| Treasury Bills US Department of the Treasury (TreasuryDirect) | $100 to open · $100 smallest amount | none a month | Obligation of the US government | no | 4 to 52 weeks; $100 steps | terms | ||
| Treasury Notes US Department of the Treasury (TreasuryDirect) | $100 to open · $100 smallest amount | none a month | Obligation of the US government | no | 2 to 10 years; interest every six months; $100 steps | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-Directed Trading Ally Invest Securities LLC | $0 to open · Whole shares only | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | not stated | Smallest purchase is one share's price | terms | ||
| Cash App Investing Cash App Investing LLC (Block, Inc.) | $0 to open · $1 smallest amount · Stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000; the Cash balance is not SIPC-protected | no | Taxable accounts only | terms | ||
| Schwab brokerage account Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount · Most US-listed stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | Fractional shares are sold, not moved, if the account is transferred | terms | ||
| Fidelity brokerage account Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC | $0 to open · $1 smallest amount · Listed stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | Fractional orders execute in market hours | terms | ||
| Firstrade Firstrade Securities Inc. | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount · Most stocks and ETFs from $5 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000, plus excess coverage | yes | Fractional orders are day orders only | terms | ||
| IBKR Lite Interactive Brokers LLC | $0 to open · $1 smallest amount · US stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | terms | |||
| Self-Directed Investing J.P. Morgan Securities LLC | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount · S&P 500 and Nasdaq-100 stocks and certain ETFs from $5 | none a month | SIPC member | yes | Fractional orders are market orders only | terms | ||
| M1 brokerage account M1 Finance LLC | $100 to open · $1 smallest amount · Stocks and ETFs from $1 | $3 a month | SIPC member | yes | $100 first deposit ($500 for an IRA); $3 a month below $10,000 held at M1 | terms | ||
| Merrill Edge Self-Directed Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. | $0 to open · Whole shares only | none a month | SIPC member | yes | Smallest purchase is one share's price | terms | ||
| E*TRADE brokerage account Morgan Stanley Smith Barney LLC | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount · Most listed stocks and ETFs from $5 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | terms | |||
| Public Open to the Public Investing, Inc. | to open: not stated · $5 smallest amount · Stocks and ETFs from $5 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | Fractional shares cannot be transferred out | terms | ||
| Robinhood Robinhood Financial LLC | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount · Listed stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | terms | |||
| SoFi Active Investing SoFi Securities LLC | $0 to open · Stocks and ETFs; SoFi's pages state $1 on one page and $5 on another | none a month | SIPC member | yes | Fractional shares cannot be transferred out | terms | ||
| Stash Stash Investments LLC | $0 to open · 1¢ smallest amount · From 1¢ | $12 a month | SIPC member (Stash Capital LLC, Apex Clearing) | yes | $12 a month ($108 a year billed annually); 0.25% a year more on managed portfolios of $1,000 or more | terms | ||
| Vanguard Brokerage Account Vanguard Brokerage Services | $0 to open · $1 smallest amount · Vanguard ETFs from $1; other stocks and ETFs in whole shares | none a month | SIPC, $500,000, plus excess coverage | yes | $25 a year account fee unless statements are delivered electronically | terms | ||
| Stock Investing Account Wealthfront Brokerage LLC | $1 to open · $1 smallest amount · Stocks and ETFs from $1 | none a month | not stated | not stated | terms | |||
| Webull Webull Financial LLC | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount · Stocks from $1 | none a month | SIPC, $500,000 including $250,000 cash, plus excess coverage | yes | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robo Portfolios Ally Invest Advisors, Inc. | $100 to open · $100 smallest amount | none a month · 0.30% a year | SIPC, $500,000, plus excess coverage; the cash buffer is not FDIC-insured | yes | Cash-enhanced portfolios: no advisory fee, 30% held in cash | terms | ||
| Betterment Investing Betterment LLC | $0 to open | $5 a month | SIPC member (Betterment Securities) | yes | $5 a month below $24,000 without a $200 monthly deposit; otherwise 0.25% a year | terms | ||
| Schwab Intelligent Portfolios Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. | $5,000 to open · $5,000 smallest amount | none a month | SIPC; the portfolio's cash is swept to FDIC-insured deposits at Schwab Bank | yes | Every portfolio holds a cash allocation | terms | ||
| Fidelity Go Fidelity Personal and Workplace Advisors LLC | $0 to open · $10 smallest amount | none a month | SIPC member (Fidelity Brokerage Services) | yes | Invested once the balance reaches $10; no advisory fee below $25,000, 0.35% a year above | terms | ||
| Robinhood Strategies Robinhood Asset Management, LLC | $50 to open · $50 smallest amount | none a month · 0.25% a year | SIPC member (Robinhood) | yes | terms | |||
| SoFi Robo Investing SoFi Wealth LLC | to open: not stated | none a month · 0.25% a year | SIPC member (SoFi Securities) | yes | terms | |||
| Vanguard Digital Advisor Vanguard Advisers, Inc. | $100 to open · $100 smallest amount | none a month · 0.20% a year | SIPC, $500,000, plus excess coverage | yes | Up to 0.20% a year (up to 0.25% for Active/Index), plus fund expenses | terms | ||
| Automated Investing Account Wealthfront Advisers LLC | $500 to open · $500 smallest amount | none a month · 0.25% a year | not stated | yes | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acorns Bronze Acorns Advisers, LLC | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount | $4 a month | SIPC member (Acorns Securities) | yes | Round-ups invested once they reach $5 | terms | ||
| Acorns Gold Acorns Advisers, LLC | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount | $12 a month | SIPC member (Acorns Securities) | yes | terms | |||
| Acorns Silver Acorns Advisers, LLC | $0 to open · $5 smallest amount | $8 a month | SIPC member (Acorns Securities) | yes | terms | |||
| Bloom Bloom Investment Advisers, LLC | $0 to open · $1 smallest amount | $15 a month | SIPC member (Alpaca Securities) | no | $99.99 a year if billed annually | terms | ||
| Greenlight Max Greenlight Investment Advisors, LLC | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount | $10.98 a month | SIPC member (Alpaca) | no | Family plan for children's accounts | terms | ||
| Invstr+ Invstr (Apex Clearing) | to open: not stated | none a month · $0 commission; exchange and transfer fees apply | not stated | no | Fee schedule dated April 2024; current availability not stated | terms | ||
| Qapital Complete Qapital Invest, LLC | to open: not stated | $8 a month | SIPC member (Apex Clearing or Wedbush Securities) | no | The $3 Basic plan does not include investing | terms |
| Place | Smallest amount | Takes the amount | Fees | Fees for a year on the amount | Protection | IRA | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binance.US BAM Trading Services Inc. | $1 to open · $1 smallest amount | none a month · Spread in the price; card deposits 3.99% | Not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | terms | |||
| Cash App Bitcoin Block, Inc. | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount | none a month · 2.0% on $1–499 plus a spread of 0–0.75%; no fee on Auto Invest and Round Ups | Not FDIC insured | no | terms | |||
| Coinbase Coinbase, Inc. | to open: not stated | none a month · Spread in the price plus a fee shown before the order | Crypto not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | terms | |||
| Crypto.com App Foris DAX, Inc. | to open: not stated | none a month · Fee shown in the trade preview | Not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | terms | |||
| Gemini Gemini Trust Company, LLC | to open: not stated | none a month · $0.99 on orders of $10 or less, plus a convenience fee in the price | Not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | terms | |||
| PayPal Crypto PayPal Digital, Inc. (Paxos Trust Company) | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount | none a month · 2.20% on $1–74.99 plus about 1.00% spread | Not insured by FDIC, SIPC or any insurer | no | terms | |||
| Venmo Crypto PayPal Digital, Inc. (Paxos Trust Company) | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount | none a month · 2.20% on $1–74.99 plus about 1.00% spread | Not insured by FDIC, SIPC or any insurer | no | terms | |||
| Kraken Payward Interactive, Inc. | to open: not stated · $1 smallest amount | none a month · 1% on instant buys plus a spread in the price | Not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | Card purchases from $10 | terms | ||
| Robinhood Crypto Robinhood Crypto, LLC | to open: not stated · 1¢ smallest amount | none a month · No commission; spread in the price | Not FDIC insured or SIPC protected | no | terms | |||
| Uphold Uphold HQ Inc. | to open: not stated · $10 smallest amount | none a month · Spread 2.05–2.2% on BTC and ETH; $0.99 on trades under $500 | Not FDIC or SIPC insured | no | terms |
Motor fuel prices today
| Area | Regular | 4 weeks | 52 weeks | Diesel | 52 weeks | Survey week |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $4.331 | +0.3% | +41.5% | $6.179 | +68.6% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| New England (PADD 1A) | $4.291 | -0.1% | +44.0% | $6.441 | +63.1% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Central Atlantic (PADD 1B) | $4.347 | -0.9% | +40.0% | $6.471 | +66.9% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C) | $3.929 | -2.8% | +37.9% | $5.645 | +55.1% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Midwest (PADD 2) | $4.145 | +1.3% | +47.4% | $6.259 | +73.6% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Gulf Coast (PADD 3) | $3.851 | -0.0% | +46.8% | $5.809 | +76.1% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Rocky Mountain (PADD 4) | $4.439 | +0.0% | +45.6% | $6.302 | +72.3% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| West Coast except California (PADD 5) | $5.071 | +0.9% | +28.4% | $6.503 | +60.5% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| California | $6.104 | +4.8% | +37.0% | $8.091 | +63.8% | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Colorado | $4.175 | -1.3% | +49.9% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Florida | $3.982 | -2.9% | +38.6% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Massachusetts | $4.258 | +0.1% | +44.7% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Minnesota | $4.184 | -0.9% | +45.5% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| New York | $4.353 | +0.3% | +42.5% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Ohio | $3.870 | -6.7% | +42.4% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Texas | $3.779 | -0.7% | +46.2% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Washington | $5.377 | -2.3% | +23.4% | — | — | 12 Oct 2026 |
Home energy prices today
| BLS region | Electricity per kWh | 12 months | Utility gas per therm | 12 months | Month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US city average | 19.6¢ | +4.3% | $1.70 | +5.4% | Sep 2026 |
| Northeast | 26.6¢ | +4.7% | $1.83 | +10.3% | Sep 2026 |
| Midwest | 19.7¢ | +9.4% | $1.25 | +1.5% | Sep 2026 |
| South | 16.3¢ | +0.6% | $2.09 | +7.8% | Sep 2026 |
| West | 22.8¢ | +5.6% | $1.96 | -1.1% | Sep 2026 |
| Area | Heating oil per gallon | Propane per gallon | Survey week |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $6.138 | $2.638 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| New England | $6.081 | $3.775 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Central Atlantic | $6.228 | $3.582 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Lower Atlantic | $5.928 | $3.607 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Midwest | $5.866 | $2.112 | 12 Oct 2026 |
Upstream markets
| Market | Latest | Since previous | 12 months | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy, wholesale | |||||
| Crude oil, WTI Cushing | $101.91 per barrel | +1.04% | +72.5% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Crude oil, Brent | $126.55 per barrel | +0.61% | +103.0% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Gasoline, NY Harbor conventional regular | $2.987 per gallon | -0.03% | +61.1% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Gasoline, Gulf Coast conventional regular | $3.525 per gallon | +3.59% | +84.9% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Diesel (ULSD), NY Harbor | $5.066 per gallon | -0.94% | +126.2% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Diesel (ULSD), Gulf Coast | $4.844 per gallon | -1.02% | +127.4% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Heating oil No. 2, NY Harbor | $4.834 per gallon | -0.76% | +131.0% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Natural gas, Henry Hub | $3.22 per MMBtu | +2.55% | +15.4% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Propane, Mont Belvieu | $1.070 per gallon | +3.08% | +72.6% | 14 Oct 2026 | EIA spot prices |
| Meat, wholesale | |||||
| Boxed beef cutout, Choice 600–900 lb | $373.98 per cwt | -0.67% | +2.1% | 15 Oct 2026 | USDA AMS Livestock Mandatory Reporting |
| Boxed beef cutout, Select 600–900 lb | $352.62 per cwt | -1.63% | +1.1% | 15 Oct 2026 | USDA AMS Livestock Mandatory Reporting |
| Pork carcass cutout | $77.55 per cwt | -2.39% | -24.1% | 15 Oct 2026 | USDA AMS Livestock Mandatory Reporting |
| Pork belly primal | $83.33 per cwt | -0.56% | -37.7% | 15 Oct 2026 | USDA AMS Livestock Mandatory Reporting |
| Grain and beef, world | |||||
| Wheat, US No. 1 hard red winter | $228.74 per tonne | +14.57% | +38.4% | Jul 2026 | IMF Primary Commodity Prices |
| Maize (corn), US No. 2 yellow | $213.19 per tonne | +8.89% | +10.8% | Jul 2026 | IMF Primary Commodity Prices |
| Beef, Australia & NZ frozen | 331.8¢ per lb | -2.87% | +8.8% | Jul 2026 | IMF Primary Commodity Prices |
| Food and farm inputs, H-α marks | |||||
| Coffee, arabica (other milds) | $7,260 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Sugar, US domestic | $850 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Sugar, world (ISA) | $410 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Rice, Thai 5% FOB Bangkok | $482 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Soybean meal, 48% FOB Rotterdam | $447 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Urea, FOB Middle East | $408 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| DAP fertilizer, FOB US Gulf | $801 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Coconut oil, CIF Rotterdam | $2,083 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
| Olive oil, extra virgin, Spain | €342.00 per 100 kg | — | — | 4 Oct 2026 | European Commission agri-food data portal |
| Groundnuts | $1,563 per tonne | — | — | Sep 2026 | World Bank Pink Sheet |
Forecast tables
| Category | Weight % | 12 months | 2026 | Interval | 2027 | Interval | 20-year average |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All food | 100.0 | +2.7% | +2.9% | 2.5 to 3.2 | +2.0% | -2.7 to 7.0 | +3.0% |
| Food away from home | 39.2 | +3.4% | +3.5% | 3.3 to 3.8 | +2.6% | 0.2 to 5.1 | +3.5% |
| Food at home | 60.8 | +2.2% | +2.4% | 1.8 to 3.0 | +1.8% | -5.0 to 9.2 | +2.6% |
| Meats, poultry, and fish | 13.6 | +3.5% | +4.7% | 3.6 to 5.8 | +2.5% | -4.8 to 10.8 | +3.1% |
| Meats | 8.7 | +3.6% | +5.2% | 3.7 to 6.6 | +1.1% | -8.7 to 11.7 | +3.3% |
| Beef and veal | 4.7 | +5.9% | +9.4% | 7.4 to 11.6 | +4.7% | -7.7 to 18.9 | +4.5% |
| Pork | 2.5 | +0.6% | +1.2% | -0.1 to 2.6 | +0.5% | -8.1 to 10.1 | +2.2% |
| Other meats | 1.4 | +1.5% | +1.6% | 0.7 to 2.6 | -0.3% | -5.8 to 5.9 | +2.6% |
| Poultry | 2.6 | +0.5% | +1.0% | 0.0 to 2.1 | +1.5% | -5.4 to 8.8 | +2.7% |
| Fish and seafood | 2.4 | +6.5% | +5.9% | 5.0 to 6.8 | +1.3% | -3.8 to 6.6 | +3.0% |
| Eggs | 0.8 | -23.0% | -29.4% | -32.9 to -25.2 | +0.8% | -30.3 to 47.8 | +6.0% |
| Dairy products | 5.5 | -0.3% | +0.1% | -0.6 to 0.8 | +1.5% | -5.0 to 8.4 | +2.1% |
| Fats and oils | 1.6 | -0.3% | -0.8% | -1.7 to 0.2 | +3.4% | -9.8 to 19.0 | +3.3% |
| Fruits and vegetables | 9.5 | +3.2% | +3.9% | 3.0 to 4.7 | +1.2% | -4.1 to 7.0 | +2.0% |
| Fresh fruits and vegetables | 7.5 | +3.1% | +3.9% | 2.9 to 5.0 | +1.4% | -4.9 to 8.2 | +1.7% |
| Fresh fruits | 3.9 | +3.8% | +2.5% | 1.5 to 3.7 | +2.3% | -4.5 to 9.6 | +1.7% |
| Fresh vegetables | 3.6 | +2.6% | +5.7% | 4.3 to 7.2 | -0.5% | -9.3 to 9.2 | +1.7% |
| Processed fruits and vegetables | 2.0 | +3.2% | +3.1% | 2.3 to 4.0 | +2.8% | -2.2 to 8.0 | +2.8% |
| Sugar and sweets | 2.4 | +6.1% | +6.6% | 5.8 to 7.4 | +3.4% | -2.1 to 9.3 | +3.1% |
| Cereals and bakery products | 7.6 | +2.6% | +2.5% | 1.9 to 3.1 | +2.4% | -4.8 to 10.3 | +2.8% |
| Nonalcoholic beverages | 7.3 | +3.7% | +4.2% | 3.5 to 5.0 | +2.6% | -2.9 to 8.5 | +2.4% |
| Other foods | 12.5 | +2.1% | +2.1% | 1.5 to 2.8 | +1.5% | -5.9 to 9.6 | +2.4% |
| Stage | 12 months | 2026 | Interval | 2027 | Interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farm-level cattle | -3.9% | +7.1% | 3.8 to 10.9 | -2.5% | -21.7 to 21.3 |
| Wholesale beef | +3.1% | +8.5% | 3.0 to 15.0 | -0.4% | -24.4 to 31.2 |
| Wholesale pork | -13.9% | -9.4% | -12.8 to -5.4 | -4.3% | -26.2 to 26.1 |
| Wholesale poultry | -12.5% | -4.9% | -7.3 to -2.3 | -2.9% | -19.4 to 17.1 |
| Farm-level eggs | -59.4% | -79.2% | -82.8 to -72.1 | +21.0% | -63.9 to 336.2 |
| Farm-level milk | -10.2% | -9.4% | -14.2 to -3.8 | -6.7% | -38.8 to 45.4 |
| Wholesale dairy | -0.7% | -0.7% | -2.7 to 1.4 | +1.2% | -13.0 to 18.1 |
| Farm-level soybeans | +18.9% | +12.4% | 6.4 to 19.5 | +4.0% | -26.7 to 48.4 |
| Wholesale fats and oils | +21.2% | +19.2% | 16.3 to 22.4 | +6.9% | -14.9 to 34.3 |
| Farm-level fruits | +7.6% | -4.1% | -7.8 to 0.0 | +0.8% | -12.9 to 16.8 |
| Farm-level vegetables | -7.3% | +16.0% | 7.7 to 26.8 | -5.4% | -27.9 to 24.9 |
| Farm-level wheat | +35.1% | +18.3% | 11.4 to 26.9 | +7.1% | -26.5 to 58.7 |
| Wholesale wheat flour | +5.7% | +2.5% | 0.0 to 5.1 | -1.2% | -15.1 to 15.7 |
Sources and method
| Source | Cadence | Terms | Where |
|---|---|---|---|
| EIA spot prices (via FRED) | daily observations, released weekly (Wednesday) | US government work, public domain | www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/pet_pri_spt_s1_d.htm |
| EIA weekly retail price survey | weekly, Monday survey, released Monday/Tuesday | US government work, public domain | www.eia.gov/petroleum/gasdiesel/ |
| EIA heating oil and propane update | weekly, October through March | US government work, public domain | www.eia.gov/petroleum/heatingoilpropane/ |
| BLS CPI average price data (via FRED) | monthly, with the CPI release | US government work, public domain | www.bls.gov/cpi/factsheets/average-prices.htm |
| IMF Primary Commodity Prices (via FRED) | monthly | IMF data, free reuse with attribution | www.imf.org/en/Research/commodity-prices |
| USDA AMS Livestock Mandatory Reporting | daily, each business day | US government work, public domain | mpr.datamart.ams.usda.gov/ |
| USDA ERS Food Price Outlook | monthly, near the 25th | US government work, public domain | www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-price-outlook/summary-findings |
| EIA Short-Term Energy Outlook | monthly, early in the month | US government work, public domain | www.eia.gov/outlooks/steo/ |
| BLS CPI food categories | monthly, with the CPI release | US government work, public domain | www.bls.gov/cpi/ |
| BLS CPI (via FRED) | monthly | US government work, public domain | www.bls.gov/cpi/ |
| World Bank Pink Sheet · European Commission agri-food portal | monthly · weekly | CC BY 4.0 · reuse with attribution | worldbank.org/en/research/commodity-markets |
| Category | ERS published | Reconstructed | Gap, points | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food at home | +2.3% | +2.2% | -0.06 | used |
| Cereals and bakery products | +1.0% | +1.0% | -0.03 | used |
| Fruits and vegetables | +0.3% | +0.3% | -0.05 | used |
| Nonalcoholic beverages | +3.8% | +3.8% | -0.04 | used |
| Beef and veal | +11.6% | +11.6% | 0.00 | used |
| Pork | +1.5% | +1.4% | -0.11 | used |
| Other meats | +1.5% | +1.5% | 0.02 | used |
| Poultry | +1.8% | +1.7% | -0.06 | used |
| Fish and seafood | +2.0% | +2.1% | 0.14 | used |
| Eggs | +21.9% | +21.4% | -0.49 | used |
| Dairy products | +0.8% | +0.7% | -0.11 | used |
| Fresh fruits | +1.0% | +1.1% | 0.06 | used |
| Fresh vegetables | -0.4% | -0.5% | -0.07 | used |
| Processed fruits and vegetables | +1.2% | +1.0% | -0.19 | used |
| Sugar and sweets | +5.1% | +5.1% | 0.01 | used |
| Fats and oils | -0.8% | -0.9% | -0.10 | used |
| Other foods | +0.9% | +0.9% | -0.01 | used |
